<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

 

Saara työskenteli yrityksen toimitusjohtajan assistenttina. Yksi tympeimpiä tehtäviä oli torjua epämääräiset kauppamiehet, jotka soittelivat hänen esihenkilölleen kaiken päivää.

 

_ I would like to speak to the managing director?

- May I ask who is calling?

- This is John Smith. May I speak to the managing director? Tämä kaikki murteellisella englannin kielellä.

- What is it that you would like to discuss with him?

- Why do you want to know, are you his wife?

- I’m his personal assistant, and he has given me directions to ask first before I can put you through.

- It is a personal business matter. I need to speak with him personally.

- Have you send him any material beforehand?

- That’s why I need to speak with him. I have to ask couple of questions before I send him the material.

- I’m sorry, but I cannot put you through if you haven’t sent him any material. That’s our company policy.

- What are you? Are you some kind of police?

- I’m his personal assistant. He has given me orders for the incoming calls…

 

Puhelin toisessa päässä suljetaan ennen kuin Saara kerkeää sanoa lausettaan lopppuun. Noita onnettomia soittajia on kymmeniä päivässä. Hän on kehittänyt pettämättömän nenän haistaa kuka on kauppamies, jonka soittoja esimies ei todellakaan tahtonut puhelimeensa. Sitä Saara mietti, että mitä soittajat mahtoivat ajatella keskustellessaan hänen kanssaan. Etenkin kun hävyttömyys ei varmasti vienyt heitä puuta pidemmälle hänen kanssaan.